Saturday, September 28th at 0800

Burn Season Opens

Burn permits are required. Please call our office to obtain a burn permit at 541-783-3860. Burn permits can also be obtained on this website under OUTDOOR BURNING. 

image50

Open Burning Requirements

  • All open burning needs to be monitored at all times
  • Call Klamath County Air Quality 541-882-BURN (2876)
  • All open burning needs to be monitored at all times
  • A shovel, rake, garden hose with water, must be available at all times
  • Burning is allowed during day light hours only
  • No burning on days with an inversion layer and / or fog
  • No burning during high wind events
  • All open burning must be extinguished if the burn is unattended
  • Yard debris pile cannot exceed 3 feet in height and 6 feet in diameter
  • Land clearing debris burning must obtain a special permit
  • Agricultural burns must obtain a special permit
  • Building / Demolition burns must obtain a special permit

Recreational Fire

Recreational fire or barbeques, you may only burn the following:

  • Clean, cut or split fire wood
  • Charcoal briquettes
  • No larger than 3 feet in diameter by 2 feet in height

Burn Barrel Requirements

  • Clear burnable material 10 feet from around the base of the base of the barrel
  • Locate barrel at least 15 feet away from buildings and/or combustible materials
  • Fire must be monitored at all times
  • A shovel, rake, garden hose with water, must be available at all times
  • Burning during daylight hours only
  • No burning during days with an inversion layer and/or fog
  • All burning must be extinguished if the burn is unattended
  • No burning during high wind events
  • No burning during Fire Season

image51

Prohibited to Burn

It is illegal to burn the following materials in the State of Oregon:

  • Anything producing a noxious odor
  • Plastics
  • Man made materials
  • Petroleum products
  • Rubber
  • Dead animals
  • Food service and industrial waste
  • Any wet material
  • Building / demolition material (Special permit required)

Permitted to Burn

  • Dry paper
  • Dry clean lumber
  • Dry vegetation (limbs, needles, brush, grass)
  • Timber slash
  • Agricultural debris
  • Field burning

Special Occasion Fires

All special occasion fire request require a burn permit from the Fire District. This includes:

  • Ceremonial
  • Religious
  • Special Events

Safety Tips for Open Debris Burning

In addition to the burning requirements, these tips will help you conduct safe burning.

  • Burn early in the day when it is cool, humidity is higher and winds are light. (Winds tend to increase in the afternoon / evening)
  • Keep piles small and controllable
  • Do not burn more that you are capable of controlling
  • After fire is out, fire must be monitored for potential rekindle
  • Cover / tarp piles to keep dry


Example of an approved open debris pile:

  • 20 feet from trees and vegetation greater than 3 feet in height
  • 50 feet from structures and combustible material
  • Clear ground of burnable material for 25 feet around the pile
  • 30 feet from property lines


Liabilities

You may be liable for all damage to other persons property should your fire escape your control. You may be charged for all suppression costs and fined if negligent, malicious or willful in you actions. 

References

  • Oregon Administrative Rule 340-264 (DEQ)
  • Oregon Revised Statue 447 / 448
  • Oregon Administrative Rule 340-264 (DEQ)
  • Klamath County Air Quality Ordinance - Chapter 406
  • City of Chiloquin Ordinance 500

Enforcement / Penalties

  • Violation of ORS 478.960 is a misdemeanor.
  • Violation of Klamath County Air Quality Ordinance is punishable by up to $1,000.00 per offense. 

Definitions

Burn Permit

Please include phone number, address and what you will be burning in the message portion. Permit is not valid until all information is received.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Chiloquin Fire & Rescue

P.O. Box 437, Chiloquin, OR 97624, us

(541) 783-3860

Hours

Mon

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Tue

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Wed

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Thu

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Fri

9:00 am – 5:00 pm

Sat

Closed

Sun

Closed